Access to the Ektron site is handled through the implementation of CMS and Membership users. Below is brief list of differences between our two types of users.
More information on both CMS users and Membership users can be found within the documentation appropriate for your version of Ektron.
- Can access the workarea.
- Can have their permissions and functionality altered on the site through the use of Roles.
- It is recommended to have permissions assigned through user groups and not on an individual user basis.
- The CMS users are leveraged when creating workflow functionality for content
- The total number of CMS users allowed for your site will be dependant on your license key.
- Are edited in the workarea through Settings > Users.
- Cannot access the workarea.
- Can be enabled to view private content on the front end of the site.
- Can be enabled to edit content on the front end of the site.
- It is recommended that permissions and access be granted to users through groups and not on an individual basis.
- The total number of membership users on the site is not limited by the license key.
- Are edited in the workarea through Settings > Community Management > Memberships > Users
As a note, when viewing users in the database the membership_user flag will indicate if the user is either a membership user or a CMS user. We recommend strongly against modifying the database directly, and if a user needs to be be changed between the two types of users we recommend deleting the user and then recreating the user as the desired type of user.